A Pot Luck

I like pot lucks for several reasons. They lift the burden off host(s), ensure everyone who comes will have at least one thing to eat they like, are an opportunity to show off and never leave me hungry. I like to see what people were proud to make and hear the stories behind the dishes.  I also like the pot lucks where everyone chips in on the work, offering their services and expertise;) They are generally gatherings of like minds…I just dig ’em, ok?
(duh)

So this post is going to be a pot luck of sorts. I’ve been working hard this week and have ideas and plans and well, it was my birthday for Pete’s sake! So I’m just going to throw out a few of the things that have been floating around my mind and see what you do with them. Oh, and I also wrote a post on the VikingToGo site we just launched. The Community is still a little buggy (email notifications are not going through at time of publishing) but I enjoyed writing the first blog post and I hope you will enjoy reading it. You can check it out here:

A Foodie Knows No Borders

Have I mentioned what my go-to pot luck dish is, by the way? Baked brie. Easy enough to keep puff pastry in the freezer and just buy a wheel of brie when you have an event. Wrap it in the thawed pastry, topping the cheese first with a dollop of jam. Brush with egg (less waste with Egg Beaters) and top with some nuts. I usually have shaved almonds on hand. I also like to drizzle some honey over it about halfway through the baking process. Anyway, cook it at about 350 F and/or according to the pastry directions (I’d say about 40 min.). Let it cool at least 10 minutes before cutting it…otherwise it gets crazy runny. Serve with crackers and Bob’s your uncle!

So here’s my baked brie for this week’s pot luck:

  • My family’s visit to the family farm last weekend fell on a weekend when work needed to be done for my cousin’s new blueberry endeavors. How wonderful to spend that time growing food with my family in the south Georgia sun. That and the slip and slide was also very cool:). Anyway all this had me thinking about what it means to have a Sense of Place. I think that will be my next set of musings
  • I made my first batch of laundry detergent and it’s brought my cost per load to about a cent. It took me 35 min of work and I’m sure I can do it in less time next time. I have detergent coming out of my yen yang, too! Oh and more importantly, it works – well – in my high efficiency machine. Well done, Suite101.com:

Making your own Laundry Detergent

  • I have all the ingredients I need to make my first batch of sunscreen. Keep your fingers crossed/thumbs held for me, please! I’ll let you know how it goes!
  • Have you planted everything you planned to plant this year? I still have some things that need to get in the ground…I’m getting behind…

Hope everyone has a great week! 🙂

2 responses to “A Pot Luck

  1. Beth, I am responding as a soapmaker to your blog this time as I made laundry detergent and gave the recipe out to one of my soap classes. It was the powder form, very concentrated, and I learned the hard way to add it to the water first and not directly on the clothing in the washer! It can eat holes in fabric, no joke!
    Can’t wait to hear how the sunscreen project turns out.

    • Jean,

      Interesting. I’d thought of trying powder next. The liquid separates and knowing this now I’d likely choose different packaging than I did the first go-around. I think wide mouth containers that allow you to get in there and stir before using probably make the most sense.

      I made my first batch of sunscreen on Friday and tested it out this weekend. I was disappointed about my red shoulders until I went to get a sample to bring to my sister and realized it had settled out in a couple of different shades…I think I should have mixed it up again after it solidified. I’ve mixed it now and will (sun permitting!) try it again this weekend. The good news is that it was lovely to apply! I added some lavender and eucalyptus essential oils so it really felt like a nice skin treatment rather than sunscreen. If I can just get the active ingredients sorted out to my satisfaction it will be the best sunscreen I’ve used! Sun protection…such a pesky detail in the making of sunscreen! 😉

Leave a Reply

