Blogging

I’ve always been somewhat of a hobby horse. I know how to do tons of interesting stuff but I don’t really excel at anything. This is a challenge to my competitive nature, but somehow it works for me. I’ve a mantra that encourages me in this behavior: follow your heart. I followed my heart in my studies, in my travels, in my romances and I now do the same in my mothering. This practice led me to English Literature, Scotland, South Africa (this for both the land and the boy), a career in marketing and countless other experiences. It’s this wild accumulation of random knowledge that brings me to my next adventure – blogging.

Self-indulgent dribble, know-it-all proclamations, who on Earth will read this?

It’ll be nice if someone does. It’ll be nice if my words are so striking to the many readers I’ll attract that I’ll find some way to make a living off them. I’ll leave my company to pursue the interests of my heart, documenting my journey all the way. I’ll follow in the footsteps of Barbara Kingsolver (man, she rocks!), spending quality time with my family, tending gardens of food and friendship, traveling and learning and living! Ahhh…

But it will also be nice just to plug in to this community I’ve only recently begun learning about. Already I’ve found women online with whom I feel a voyeuristic connection. They are learning and writing about lovely hippie happiness like going Shampoo-free and making your own household cleaners, tending to your own garden, raising your child as removed as possible from the silliness that is contaminating our society and overshadowing simplicity and goodness. So, why wouldn’t I join these ranks, these women who inspire me from miles and sometimes continents away? I bring my own circumstances, personality and talents to the table. I am a workaholic, momaholic, “goddamn independent woman”*  who likes to learn and can string words together with enough sense that a loony (like me) might just be able to follow. You follow?

* Courtesy of Dad, circa college graduation – just before I left for a “year” abroad.
8 responses to “Blogging

  1. Can’t wait to read more!

  2. Judith Lupo Wold

    I am honored that you have shared your blogs with me–time is indeed too short–and it passes with the speed of light the older you get. Have a wonderful holiday with your family…give your mom a big hug for me. J

  3. What a great writer you are!! Although, I am not surprised. Awaiting your next blog–Pot Luck Mama.

  4. Just want to say your article is stunning. The clarity in your post is simply impressive and i can take for granted you are an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your rss feed to keep up to date with incoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the sound work

  5. Ma’m,

    I’ll follow … you bet!

    ray

  6. Pingback: A New Direction | Pot Luck Mama

Leave a Reply

